Slide background
University Departments 2019-01-21T22:24:45+01:00

ABPCO-Award-for--UNI-recognised-courses-logo             University Departments

This section lists all University Department ABPCO Members.

Leeds Beckett University The UK Centre for Events Management UK
Manchester Metropolitan University Department of Food and Tourism Management UK
University of Surrey School of Hospitality and Tourism Management UK
University of the West of Scotland  School of Business and Enterprise UK
Greenwich University Department of Marketing Events & Tourism UK
University of Huddersfield Business School UK
Staffordshire University Business School UK
London Metropolitan University Guildhall School of Business and Law UK

The benefits of membership to a University department are;

  • Use of the ‘Courses recognised by ABPCO’ logo.  Guidelines apply for this.  We will ask for evidence that your courses have some focus on association conferences and related activities.
  • Membership of ABPCO included, for two nominated staff members
  • Membership for two named student members (these can be changed annually from January by the University contact)
  • A ‘Courses recognised by ABPCO’ plaque for departmental display.
  • Access to ABPCO members for teaching (guest lecture), research, internship and advisory purposes
  • An opportunity to apply for ABPCO Centre of Excellence status. This will be launched in 2015, and guidelines will be published for this. Centre for Excellence status will last for three years subject to continued membership fees being paid.
  • An opportunity to bid for seedcorn research funding of up to £1000 for research that would help ABPCO professionalise the sector. Please e-mail for details on how to apply for this money.
  • An opportunity to promote university research, CPD and other activities relating to business engagement via the ABPCO network.
  • Opportunity for a free delegate place at all relevant ABPCO meetings and events.

The fee is £350 ex VAT per annum, plus an initial one off joining fee of £40 ex VAT.

To apply to join, as a University Department, please get in touch with Heather Lishman, ABPCO Association Director with your contact details, and she will give you a call back 

ABPCO’s policy statement on supporting academic research

ABPCO recognises the potential contribution academic research might make to improving

professional practice. As a consequence, it will encourage members to participate in projects where

there are clear benefits to members of the Association. In order to limit intrusion on members’

time, however, ABPCO has adopted the following principles. It will normally support access to its

membership for research purposes only when the person requesting access is:

1. an individual member or from an ABPCO recognised university department;

2. a member of staff or a PhD student of an ABPCO recognised university department

(invitations from undergraduates will normally be refused).

The project in question must have received institutional ethical approval prior to data collection.