Contact ABPCO Tel: +44 (0)1386 858 886
ABPCO’s 30th Anniversary AGM votes new chairs header internal ABPCO’s 30th Anniversary AGM votes new chairs header internal


ABPCO’s 30th Anniversary AGM votes new chairs header internal
January 16th 2017

ABPCO’s 30th Anniversary AGM votes new chairs

Heather Lishman image by Heather Lishman

The Association of British Professional Conference Organisers (ABPCO) kicked of its 30th Anniversary year by announcing new appointments to the board at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at The Principal Hotel in York last week.

The board will see Rose Padmore (Opening Doors & Venues) and Therese Dolan (Diabetes UK) take over as joint-chairs from Caroline Windsor and Nicole Leida.  Once again, the joint-chairs represent both in-house and agency PCOs.  Changes following the AGM also include new board members Sandro Carnicelli (University of the West of Scotland) and Martin Linfield (Hiscox Event Insurance).

“I am looking forward to becoming joint-chair alongside Therese, and am excited by the challenge ahead,” comments Rose Padmore, new joint-chair of ABPCO.  “Our focus will remain on providing support to the membership through education and delivery of best practice advice and leadership.  However, I also have a personal goal to represent both agency and in-house PCO’s, whilst encouraging and educating newcomers to our industry. The addition of Sandro and Martin to the board with their wealth of experience will be a great bonus to the association during what will be a very exciting anniversary year.”

The AGM, which confirmed outline business plans for 2017, covered an important update on the industry’s Event Management Apprenticeship Scheme, the launch of the ABPCO member’s app, and the commencement of ABPCO’s 30th anniversary celebrations.  In addition, entertaining guest speaker, John Hotowka, shared his insights, practical advice to achieve more with less, and ultimately how to improve the bottom line.

Therese Dolan, incoming joint chair of ABPCO concludes: “On behalf of our members and the board, I want to thank Caroline and Nicole for their hard work and dedication to the association over the last two years.  Under their leadership ABPCO has gone from strength to strength and they have created a road map of success for Rose and I to follow.  The AGM has once again been a true success and has provided an important source of education, industry updates, networking opportunities and an overview of the year to come, which I personally, am very much looking forward to as new joint-chair.”

The full board structure is:

  •  Rose Padmore, Opening Doors and Venues – Joint Chair
  •  Therese Dolan, Diabetes UK – Joint Chair
  • Heather Lishman – Association Director
  • Anthony Hyde – Treasurer
  • Caroline Windsor, TFI Group Ltd
  • Nicole Leida, National Cancer Research Institute
  • Sarah Fitzpatrick, Conference Partners Ltd
  • Celia Lloyd, Intelligent Events Ltd
  • Sue Etherington, QEII Centre
  • Clare Beach, Azura Events Ltd
  • Sandra Eyre, ACC Liverpool
  • Noemi La Torre, University of Greenwich
  • Adam Baggs, Soaring Worldwide
  • Sandro Carnicelli, University of the West of Scotland
  • Martin Linfield, Hiscox Event Insurance

ABPCO is the UK’s leading organisation for professional conference and event organisers, industry associates and those studying for, or seeking a career in the conference and meetings industry. For more information about ABPCO visit

Copyright 2019 ABPCO. All Rights Reserved. Privacy and Cookies Terms and Conditions
VAT Reg No. 75 385 8001 England Reg No. 2111650

Our website uses cookies which are small files of letters and numbers that we put on your computer. These cookies allow us to distinguish you from other users of our website, which helps us to provide you with a good experience when you browse our website and also helps us to improve our website. Read more about the cookies we use by clicking here. By clicking CONTINUE you agree to cookies being used in accordance with our Cookie Policy. If you don't agree you can disable cookies - see the Cookie Policy for more details.